Seed failure.

A meeting place for rose breeders.
roseman

Seed failure.

Sun Nov 14, 2021 5:56 pm

671B5E18-C760-49B0-AF48-830B4D467133.jpeg
Hi Everyone,
This is my first post on the forum. You all seem like great and helpful people here. I’ve been cloning roses for a few years and decided to try my hand at hybridizing this year. I planted my first batch of seeds in plastic jiffy grow trays with sterilized seed mix, about a quarter inch down, with a light mixture of super thrive, experimented with placing them inside and outside (my falls are pretty mild here in Redondo Beach California) and so far the only result from my efforts has been a few roots breaking the surface of the soil. I think maybe I kept my soul too wet. I also stratified for eight weeks in my refrigerator at 34°, and wonder if that was just too cold. Would appreciate any diagnostic help as far as what I did wrong.

roseseek

Re: Seed failure.

Sun Nov 14, 2021 6:39 pm

Welcome! I moved on from these small cell potting types because they were impossible to keep properly moist and they were too subject to temperature extremes. If you have outdoor space, you will very likely benefit from planting in larger boxes outdoors so the soil will retain moisture and you will benefit from the day to night temperature changes. Rains will also assist as the seeds KNOW the difference between hose water and rain. The first issue with your inquiry though is, you didn't indicate how LONG you have waited for germination. I've had some seedlings exit the soil in seven to ten days from planting while others required two years. Literally. Thirty-four degrees isn't too cold, but it may delay germination longer. You also don't mention what type of rose seeds you're planting. Minis seem to germinate significantly faster than some other types and some species can really require a long period of stratification before they cooperate.