My Sad Story

A meeting place for rose breeders.
jwoo959966

My Sad Story

Wed Aug 12, 2020 11:37 pm

I wish to tell you my sad story. I have been growing roses for 41 years of the last 18 ive had to enjoy my sometimes annuals in pots on a 2nd floor apt , i have hybridized for about 30 of these years just a little dab here and there but sufficient enough to enjoy my hobby. That is where the fun is, not in growing roses but creating!
I do not hybridize for any real purpose but to create something of beauty and it has to smell good too. So i work with Hybrid teas and a few Minifloras. I loathe shelling seeds and itching for days but the minute the first germination's happen im in seventh heaven.
I have lived in this apt 18 years, i have on average about 20 bushes crammed onto my deck. I used to get about 20 or so crosses and around 500-1000 seed every year but that was when i worked 50 hour weeks so there never was enough time to do more. This year on 1/1 i went to the hospital with human pneumovirus was released 5 days later on oxygen and currently i still require that. But...First time in all these years i was home to plant and watch the seeds grow i finally had enough time to do what i loved. of course i also purchased more roses to breed with than i had room for but i made room by adding railing baskets to hold the miniflora's. Then one day back in early may i noticed something had been digging in my pots. Squirrels !! i tried alot of things but it came back everyday. Finally i bought a 5lb bag of crushed red peppers, Alas something worked. i didnt have to fix the soil in my pots.