Agnes as parent?

A meeting place for rose breeders.
mntlover

Agnes as parent?

Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:06 pm

I saw that Peter Harris managed a baby from pollen out of Agnes. Has anyone had success with Agnes as seed parent? I found a handful of hips on her and was wondering if anyone has had success germinating them, or if I would be wasting time. Thanks!
Also this made me wonder about heat and rugosa hybrids setting hips, which was mentioned before. Any more thoughts or findings on this?
Duane

Karl K

Re: Agnes as parent?

Wed Aug 21, 2019 12:38 am

Duane,
I haven't seen 'Agnes' for nearly 40 years, though I remember it fondly. I have no experience with it. I just wanted to mention that the "float test" that is sometimes used to test seeds does not (I've read) apply to Rugosas.

I vote "Go for it", and good luck to you in your efforts.

Gismapper

Sun Aug 25, 2019 9:46 am

mntlover wrote:
Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:06 pm
Also this made me wonder about heat and rugosa hybrids setting hips, which was mentioned before. Any more thoughts or findings on this?
I don't have a lot of experience (in fact, i just started looking into hybridizing roses a few months ago), but i have two rugosas (Hansa and Alba), and they both set hips just fine a couple weeks ago (each other's pollen, and some pollen from Rubra) in the middle of oppressive heat/humidity.

I've had this Hansa bush for over 20 years. It has never set hips for me before (regardless of the time of year or the temperature). This is the first time I've deliberately tried to pollinate it, and it seems to have worked straight away. I'm eager to try it again in the spring.

Margit Schowalter

Sun Aug 25, 2019 12:55 pm

For whatever it is worth, I've never found Agnes makes seed. And for the first time my plant of Hansa set a lot of op large hips this summer. Possibly because we had double the normal amount of rainfall this year?

mntlover

Wed Aug 28, 2019 4:25 pm